iPod Repair Review: iPod Battery Depot.com

iPod Battery Depot -> XXXXX / XXXXX

Despite the sketchy interface and pop-ups, iPod Battery Depot has great, five-star service.

Although it took a bit for them to actually ship my order, the package came in a timely matter with the battery, the tool to open the iPod, and a free car-charger. (YES!) The original price was $18.75, but they have the competitive price option as well. I inserted Blake’s price and paid $.50 less than his price for the battery. I never had a problem ordering from this place, and I am glad I did. The instructions were very clear.
However, they forgot to warn me of one thing- be careful when you are closing the case back up again. While attempting to close the iPod case, I broke my LCD screen (go figure) and now am stuck with that issue. My iPod case still will not close, due to the battery being a bit bulky. Other than that, the site is wonderful.

~ by marissamiles on December 27, 2010.

3 Responses to “iPod Repair Review: iPod Battery Depot.com”

  1. Marissa, you’re incorrectly comparing the battery you bought from ipodbatterydepot.com and from me (well you didn’t give me a chance to ship it out but regardless.)

    iPodbatterydepot.com is selling a 580mAH battery whereas I sell a 900mAH battery. I charge $18 for the battery whereas ipodbatterydepot.com charges $18.75 for the battery and $5.25 for regular shipping (don’t forget everyone else charges shipping… you can’t objectively report if you don’t calculate the total price.)

    Also, as for a free car charger… do you really want to trust your iPod to a $1.50 cheaply made charger? If you’ve seen how many iPod Video logic boards ruined by cheap aftermarket chargers you wouldn’t use one. Some chargers have caused the board to overheat so much it melts the plastic on the front of the iPod.

    Again if you’re going to compare my service to another company’s service make sure they’re actually the same thing.

    Most likely they sent out the wrong battery because a correct sized battery (30Gb model) should not crack your screen. Instead of a working iPod you now have a broken one because of the wrong size battery… I’d say if anything iPodbatterydepot.com cost you more money.

  2. * To clarify my comment above… I recently took the 900mAH battery off sale and it went to $20. I incorrectly stated it as $18 in the previous comment and am correcting it.

  3. And finally…

    Comparing costs between myself and ipodbatterydepot… they charge $20 for installation (I don’t charge anything.)

    If you want standard install where they send a box to you, include a return shipping label, and you put the iPod in the box and mail it, that will cost $35.

    Finally if you wanted expedited install, that’s $60 for them to send out a box priority mail, include a priority mail label, and fix the iPod within two days…

    While I don’t offer to send out a box with a return label, I charge $4.25 for priority mail, and $17.40 for express mail (which is next day delivery.)

    Also, I install same day of delivery (if I have stock) and ship out right away using any of the options available (which are much cheaper.)

    As I stated before the offer is still there… if you want to fix the iPod (IE being able to close it, have a working screen, and a 900mAH battery) simply buy a new LCD Screen with installation and I’ll include the battery for free.

    http://store.fastfixology.com/ipod-parts-/-installation/ipod-video/apple-ipod-video-lcd-screen-5-5-gen-/-60-brighter-/prod_8.html

Leave a comment