iPod Repair Review: fastfixology.com (previously ifixipodsfast.com)

About a year or two ago, my iPod Video 5th Generation 30GB iPod’s battery had bitten the dust. Being lost, I went to my nearest battery store for a drugstore battery replacement. Three months after that, I was left with the same empty battery. A few weeks ago, I began to search for online places that would sell batteries that lasted longer than the replacement, and I couldn’t use Apple’s replacement because my computer crashed and I didn’t have my music backed up. I stumbled upon many sites. The iPod Repair Review section are reviews of the places I went to recover my iPod.

I Fix iPods Fast / Fast Fixology ->  XX / XXXXX

The first on my stop was I Fix iPods Fast, run by Blake Paulson. I had read mixed reviews about the place, and, being desperate, I thought I’d give it a try.

On December 6th, I ordered my battery from them and received a confirmation e-mail saying my battery would ship in less than 48 hours. The money was taken out of my paypal account, and I was on my way. On December 12th, my order hadn’t shipped yet and I decided to send an e-mail to the owner questioning the status of my battery. No response. On December 14th, I opened a dispute on paypal, demanding my money back. I assume this may have been a bit dramatic, but my father is not one for having money stolen off his credit card, and this battery happened to be my Christmas present. Less than five minutes after sending the dispute, Blake had returned my money. However, he left me a lovely message in the dispute center.

I’ll issue a refund for your battery however I don’t approve of the way you handled this. Unfortunately I ran out of batteries by offering a deal on them and while I sincerely apologize for not getting the battery shipped out I do not appreciate that you are inferring that you would not have ever gotten the battery.

I do have a battery in stock however it looks like you simply want me to cancel the order and issue a refund which I will gladly do.

Because you filed a PayPal dispute paypal canceled a withdrawal that I needed to pay bills so who knows if that will make it now… hence why I am not very happy. I know people from Wisconsin can’t stand Minnesotans but we usually are pretty nice.

Not to criticize someone’s lifestyle, but if you need someone to buy one battery for you to make your bills, clearly you’re not in the right field.

Now, don’t get me wrong. Had he e-mailed me back as quickly as he sent me this message explaining he had one battery, I would have been fine. But it seems like his other affairs were of more importance until it involved him losing money.

The Better Business Bureau issues this website an F, which I honestly should have checked before sending in money. I’m just glad I chose a part instead of installation.

Blake has opened a new website with a new name called Fast Fixology for the new year. I really hope that this is due to his promise to improve his services. Being one guy working on a site for fixing iPods must not be easy, which is why I am leaving my review as more of constructive criticism than bashing.

~ by marissamiles on December 27, 2010.

3 Responses to “iPod Repair Review: fastfixology.com (previously ifixipodsfast.com)”

  1. Marissa, While I can appreciate your wanting to vent about the process I’d like you to take into consideration that December is an incredibly busy month.

    I run a small (very small) iPod repair business that is my livelyhood. I’ve been running it since 2006. The reason that my name changed was due to Apple requesting my website be changed because it had “iPod” in it.

    I would love the opportunity to resolve the issue and regain your trust in my company so if you’d like to send me an email to viporderhelp@fastfixology.com I’ll be happy to send out the battery that you ordered for free.

    Since I don’t believe in advertising the only way I get new business is through word of mouth and while most customers are extremely happy there are a few who are not despite trying to appease their demands.

    Since 2006 I’ve had 10,447 orders… the BBB has received 21 complaints… why they chose to give me a rating of an F is beyond me however I can tell you if you’ve ever dealt with the BBB on the business end the company doesn’t make sense. If I paid the BBB fee for becoming accredited I’d have an A+ rating, however because I do not “support” them, they give my business an F rating. This is the same company who has given DirecTV and Dishnetwork ratings of F while Charter Communications has an A+ Rating (ever used Charter? If not you’re lucky!)

    It’s taken a lot of work to build a business and try to keep every one of my customers happy and I want to do anything and everything I can to help out future and past customers.

    Thank you for posting your review… again please email me at viporderhelp@fastfixology.com and I’ll make the issue you experienced at my company right.

    Blake Paulson
    service@fastfixology.com

  2. I PAID IPODSFAST $8 ON MY VISA AND SENT HIM MY IPOD FOR REPAIR EARLY DECEMBER 2010. NOW I CAN’T GET ANY RESPONSE WHAT SO EVER. LOST MY IPOD AND MY 8 BUCKS! WISH I LIVED CLOSER SO I COULD KNOCK ON HIS DOOR TO DELIVER A BLACK EYE.

  3. Not sure why my previous post didn’t make it on here but thanks for threatening violence Jimmy.

    The iPod shipped out on January 7th.

    http://trkcnfrm1.smi.usps.com/PTSInternetWeb/InterLabelInquiry.do?origTrackNum=9101150134711525579948

    I also emailed and received a response from Jimmy on Jan 5th, the day before this post.

    Who knew a completely dead iPod and lost emails through hotmail would resort to threatening violence. Wouldn’t be the first time… people are crazy.

Leave a comment